Staff Roles are the Job type descriptions primarily used to define security access levels (to the website and app features) for groups of Staff.
They are also used when assigning Charge Rates for Job activities, as you can assign charges to either individual Staff, particular Staff Roles, or a combination of both.
To access Staff Roles and Permissions go to Settings > Staff Roles. Roles are listed on the left sidebar, when clicked on the associated Permissions will display on the right. Definitions of each Permission are given if you roll over the text. As a default, you are given 3 Roles:
- Admin - this will have all Permission boxes ticked, and these cannot be changed. You do have the option of enabling the 'Assignable to Visits' Permission, if required.
- Employee - all default ticks can be amended as required.
- Contractor - defaulted to only be 'Assignable to Jobs', as this is most common. But the record can also be amended as required.
Adding Staff Roles
To add new Roles, click the + Add Role button at the bottom of the Roles list. Title as required.
|Top Tip: Changes to any set of Permissions need to be saved individually. Currently, if you make changes to a set of Permissions, then change to another Role, previous changes will not have been committed/saved.|
To apply Roles to Staff members
When your Staff Roles have been created, they need to be applied to Staff member records. Go to each Staff member record and select a Role in the bottom field.
GeoOp allows you to granularly control what your GeoOp users can and can't see and do.
Glossary of Permissions
Administrator - Enabling this permission gives all possible rights and permissions. It also allows access to the Settings tab.
Edit All Jobs - This allows a role to edit all Jobs in GeoOp. Granting this permission also grants six other sub-permissions, as it would not be possible to edit all Jobs unless you could see all Jobs and the Client list for example.
Create Jobs and Clients - Gives the role the ability to create new Jobs, Clients and edit Clients. Granting this permission also enables the ability to view the Client and Staff list as it would not be possible to create a new Job and allocate it without this information.
View Client List - If this is enabled then the role will be able to view your Clients in GeoOp. If not enabled then they will see no Clients other than the ones that have Jobs assigned to them.
View Staff List - If this is enabled then the role will be able to see all the GeoOp users. If not enabled then the role will only see themselves when they click on the Staff tab.
View All Jobs - This allows the role to see all Jobs in GeoOp not just the ones assigned to them. Ticking this permission auto selects the ‘View Own Jobs’ and ‘View Unallocated Jobs’ permissions. These permissions can be turned off independently so you could have it so a role could see all Jobs but not unassigned ones.
View Self-Created Jobs - This allows the role to see Jobs they created, whether or not they are an assigned Staff member on that Job.
View Unallocated Jobs - This allows the role to see Jobs they have created even if the Job isn't assigned to them and they don't have the ‘View all Jobs’ permission.
Edit All Clients - Allows the role to edit Clients details and add data such as notes.
Edit All Staff - Allows for editing of other GeoOp user accounts.
Invoicing - Allows the role to access the invoice tab on GeoOp online and push Jobs with charge items to Freshbooks or Xero
View Charge Item Values - Users without this permission can't see the prices of charge items, and instead see zeros. Users with this permission and the associated invoicing permission see the full value of chargeable items.
View Sale Price/Rate only - Users with this permission can only see the Sale Price or Rate for Charge Items. If this is unticked, all financial information for Charge items will be visible.
Limit Job Access - Limits Role to accepting or rejecting Jobs, creating Notes and adding charges. No editing Clients, Job dates or general Job details. Will override all other settings
Assignable to Jobs - This permission determines whether or not a Staff member with this role can be allocated a Job. If you don't enable this permission then any Staff member with the role won't show up on the Staff ‘assign to’ drop down on the new or edit Jobs screens.
Allow Client Login - This allows for a user to only see details for one particular Client. This permission is key to setting up Client logins to your GeoOp account. See our article on Providing GeoOp access to your Clients for further details.